Love Letters & Cookies for Breakfast

image

Cookies? For breakfast? Ca-OOOoookie Crisp! HA…no, not quite. I’m not talking about the awesomely gross 90’s cereal. But while were on the subject, let’s take a minute and relish my childhood a bit, shall we?

Ahhhh, simpler times when no one really cared about childhood obesity. OK…back on track! Cookies. For breakfast. I”m talking these delicious, oatmeal breakfast cookies that are actually pre-tty dog-gone healthy. Now these aren’t decadent, dessert cookies. I see them more as little, baked oatmeal bites. They’re super simple to whip up and very flexible depending on what you happen to have on hand. It took me only two days to finish off the whole batch!

image

Yesterday I had one of those ”I HAVE to be productive for a change” days. After spending entirely too long on Pinterst (I’m sure you have NO idea what that feels like… ;-) ), I swore that I would attempt to actually MAKE two items on my pin boards rather than spend the day clicking, liking, and commenting on a thousand more clever ideas. Thus, the bfast cookies were conquered.

I used the recipe from Wisebread.com and made just  a few changes but the recipe it awesome as is.  I used half dried cherries, half raisins, threw in some sliced almonds, added a tbs. of ground flax seed and doubled the Splenda amount. I loved the addition of dried cherries. They gave them the perfect amount of tartness!

Here’s Wisebread.com’s recipe for Breakfast Cookies.

Ingredients:

3 mashed bananas (ripe)
1/3 cup apple sauce
2 cups uncooked quick-cooking oats
1/4 cup skim milk ( I used almond milk)
1/2 cup raisins (or any other dried fruit you want to add)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp Splenda , sugar or other sweetener

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients in a bowl really well. Let this mixture stand for at least 5 minutes to let the oats become good and hydrated. Heap the dough by teaspoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes and let cool.
image

The perfect grab-and-go breakfast! Or afternoon snack. Or…dinner. Let’s remember, I finished the entire batch in TWO days.

image

For my next pin board project I absolutely did not look for the simplest craft on the face of the planet. And I definitely didn’t make sure that there were pictures of a 7 year old child making it. And I might just be lying about the past two statements.
image

Yes, it’s simple. Yes, it requires only two materials. But I really think the end product comes out looking pretty awesome. All you need it scrap pieces of yarn and pipe cleaners. I wish I had more yarn colors for this project, but I’m a once-a-year knitter. So…yeah…and it actually is a bit time consuming; a good project to do while you’re lying in bed, watching 30 Rock. Ok, maybe that’s just how I do ANY project.
image

I got the idea here at BloesemKids. And yes I know, the child pictured on that blog is doing a much better job at this craft than I am. Don’t rub it in.
image

Check it out. Try it out. Super Fun and super easy!
image

The best thing about this project is that the imperfections just add character. Let it unravel a bit, make your “e” a little crooked, spill your coffee on it a few times. Have a ball, imperfectionists! (ok, that word doesn’t exist, but it should.)

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Love Letters & Cookies for Breakfast

  1. Nikki says:

    Those cookies look scrumptious! I’m gonna have to try those out. I just wish we lived closer so we could bake, craft and watch 30 Rock together!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,813 other followers

