Wild

I recently just finished reading Wild by Cheryl Strayed. If your a twenty-something year old female who’s been feeling a little lackluster, I definitely recommend giving it a read. It’s both inspiring and a bit soul crushing at the same time. Cheryl Strayed writes about her summer hiking solo through the Pacific Crest Trail (a trail that runs along the Pacific Coast from Mexico to Washington State) in efforts to cope with her mothers death and her failed marriage. She was 26 years old when she started her hike. Hiking the ENTIRE California coast, BY HERSELF, at the age of 26 with NO PRIOR HIKING EXPERIENCE. Insane? Yes. Completely motivating? Yes.truly want to just pack up a giant backpack and take off right now. Seriously. BUT, alas, a hike like this takes an extremely large amount of planning, gear, and knowledge that I have not begun to scratch the surface of. And of course I start Googling hiking gear and get lost in a fanciful world of completely impractical camp gadgets and garb. So let me dream a bit and plan my fairytale hiking experience. Thanks.

“Wanting to leave is enough.”  - Cheryl Strayed

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Wild

  1. Holy sticks, that is so cool! I’ll have to check that book out. You should go for it. When I became unemployed during the summer, I was literally thinking about driving my new car up to Yellowstone and exploring it all by myself. I chickened out and obviously it would have been an extremely expensive endeavour, but I kind of wish I did it.

    I say go for it. And buy a lot of pepper spray.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,813 other followers

