Sweet, Sweet Mexican Goodness

image

When I lived in Houston, Paul and I would often go to El Canino farmers market in the Heights area. Passing by all the fruit, snatching a few samples and then making our way to the back lot where all the tacos trucks were camped out.  Some of the most delicious freakin’ tacos I’ve ever had- washed down with a Mexican Coca. Doesn’t get much better than that! But wait- it totally does! Right across the street is a not-so-little Mexican bakery called El Bolillo. If you live in Houston- or within 50 miles of Houston, you would be nutso not to swing by this beautiful panadería. Rows and rows of the freshest sweet breads, cupcakes, cookies, rolls, toritillas- a carboholic’s heaven on earth. Go. Now. Don’t walk. Run!

Since relocating to LA, I haven’t had the opportunity to hit many local bakeries, but I DO often walk to the corner market, Jon’s. Recently, I’ve come to find that Jon’s get’s a delivery from a local Mexican bakery every day and THUS, I now have close access to some delicious pan dulce- what you see pictured above. And at 2 for 78¢, I’m definitely not breaking the bank with my sweet tooth. And don’t get me started on those neon cookies. The texture is like nothing else- like biting into a chewy, cookie cloud.

I am DYING to try and bake my own sweet bread but haven’t quite found the time. I came across this recipe from allrecipes.com  that seems to have pretty great reviews: Conchas(Mexican Sweet Bread)  If you try it before I get a chance, let me now how it goes! I’ll post as soon as I find the time to skip a walk to the corner market and make my own sweets. ¡Dulces sueños!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Sweet, Sweet Mexican Goodness

  1. Paul says:

    Mmmmmm!

Leave a Reply

