Fiesta en mi Boca

image

Let me just say, I’m a big veggie fan- I really am. I am, however, very leery of veggies taking the place of meat on my plate. Take tacos, for example. Normally my motto is: “No meat? Must taste like feet.” Ok, that’s an exaggeration. I’ve never said that in my life. But you get the idea. I like meat. So you really have to have some hearty substitutes if you’re going to trick me into eating meatless tacos.  That said, try these- they’re good stuff. And they don’t taste like feet.

This recipe is straight out of Kim Barnouin’s Skinny Bitch Everyday Ultimate Cookbook. I definitely recommend this book especially if you’re looking for some fun, veggie dishes. You can snag this baby for less than 20 bucks on Amazon.

P.S I’m a HUGE condiment fan- I’ve gotta  have a whole lotta’ textures and temperatures going on in my dishes. So of course I dolled these guys up good before I ate them. (jalapenos, chopped tomatoes, a few squirts of lime, a dollop of sour cream. OK, maybe a few dollops…)

Black Bean and Yam Tacos


Ingredients

2 tbs grapeseed oil
1 large garnet yam, peeled and cubed
1 green bell pepper, seeded and diced
1 garlic clove, minced
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp dried Mexican oregano
1 (15-ounce/430g) can black beans,
drained and rinsed
1 large tomato, diced
Salt and pepper, to taste
4 whole wheat or sprouted tortillas
1 avocado, sliced, for garnish


Directions

In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the yam and sauté until almost soft. Add the green pepper, garlic, cumin, chili powder, coriander, and oregano. Sauté 3 minutes. Stir in the beans and tomato and cook 3 to 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Add salt and pepper, to taste. Warm the tortillas in a small skillet and then place on plate. Spread the yam/bean mixture on tortillas, and garnish with avocado.

Srv: 1 Taco, Cal: 380, Fat:17g, Sat Fat: 1.5g, Col: 0mg,
Carb: 51g, Fib: 11g, Pro: 11g

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Fiesta en mi Boca

  1. traci says:

    yum! can’t wait for LA dinner parties in the fall!

Leave a Reply

