Cool as a cucumber

image

After spending the last month of summer working on a desolate pacific island, I was eager to get back to some normality. In other words, I wanted to be lazy and eat something that wasn’t a pineapple. I was excited to jump right into my next book club meeting! (Yes, I am in a book club and no, I’m not a middle aged woman) My book club is the bomb-diggity.com. For realz, ya’ll.  Somehow, I got lucky enough to have friends that are all amazing cooks with amazing tastes for food. So every last Sunday of the month, we get all dressed up (pearls included), present our fabulous food finds and dish on the girliest gossip you’ll ever hear. Oh yeah, there is some book discussion in there somewhere.

This past meeting we talked about The Violets of March by Sarah Jio. Jio also happens to write for Glamour Magazine (I often find myself reading her Glamour Tweet Blog Posts) and is an avid blogger as well. This book was truly the perfect end of summer read. It was a beautiful, not-your- typical-love story. I was lucky enough to be reading (or, a-hem..listening to it on audio book) as I took my early morning runs on a Hawaiian coast. So maybe my love for this book was aided by the fact that it was my “escape” from work and screaming kids and because I read it while watching the sunrise in a tropical paradise. Worth reading, people- even if you’re not on an island!

For the meeting, I ended up bringing sourdough bread with a to-die-for browned honeyed butter spread (which I will blog about VERY soon) and Cucumber-Mint Yogurt Dip with raw veggies which I found on WholeLiving.com (btw: Whole Living is my new favorite magazine. it’s AWEsome). This dip is very similar to a Greek tzatziki sauce but with a bit of a light, minty twist. Perfect for raw veggies or whole wheat pita chips.

Ingredients:

Serves 4 to 6

  • 2 containers (6 ounces each) 2 percent Greek yogurt (1 1/4 cups)
  • 1/2 cup mint leaves, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 English cucumber, halved, seeded, and finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon white-wine vinegar
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • Cut vegetables, for serving

Directions:

In a medium bowl, combine yogurt, mint, cucumber, and vinegar; season with salt and pepper. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to three days.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

