Overnight Oat Sensation

Seems like every blog I’ve stumbled upon lately has been raving about “Overnight Oats.” Honestly, it seemed really gross to me. I mean, I love oatmeal. I’m CRAZY about rolled oats- I feel like I’m sticking them in everything. But to let oats get soggy in the fridge overnight and then eat them cold the next day? Ummm…no thanks.

BUT- I am the kind of person that will always try something once. Most things once.  I happen to have a lot of rolled oats on-hand right now, so I went ahead and gave it a go last night. And now….I’m a believer. This stuff is awesome. End of story. And they kept me full and satisfied for a LONG time. The best thing about overnight oats is that you can dress them however you want! I honestly measured nothing that I threw into my little tupperware. I went through the cupboard and threw in what I thought might work. I ended up with a combination of rolled oats, So Delicious Coconut Milk, 0% Fage, a mini smashed banana, splash of vanilla, a sprinkle of wheat germ, handful of almonds, and some raisins. I stuck them in a tuperware, threw them in the fridge overnight and then let them sit on the counter for about 10 minutes this morning to take the chill off. I threw in another little splash of So Delicous and then topped it with some fresh blueberries and crushed pecans before I inhaled this stuff. I’m telling you- try this. You won’t regret it.

If you’re looking for actual Overnight Oats recipes, here are a few different places you can find them!

Kath Eats Real Food

Eating Bird Food

Whole Foods Market

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

